The Five Books of Jesus by James Goldberg

September 22, 2012 | 0 Comments
Tags: ,

It starts in the desert. John the prophet lowers Jesus under the Jordan’s muddy waters and pulls him up, just as a bird swoops down to skim the river’s surface.

It spreads next to Galilee, where some welcome Jesus as a disciple of John and others grow wary of his rising influence—fishermen are leaving their nets, tax collectors their offices, and students their masters to listen to this new saint.

After abandoning his nets, Andrew ties knots in the threads of his shirt to remember Jesus’ teachings. After escaping his slum, Judas waits for Jesus to call down the legions of angels who can end a broken world.

But just as Jesus’ movement in the north is gaining strength, he turns south toward the Temple and a fate his followers will struggle to understand.

The Five Books of Jesus is a novelization of Jesus’ ministry, telling the story of the gospels as Jesus’ followers might have experienced it: without knowing what would happen next or how to make sense of events as they unfold.

Read excerpt

Title: The Five Books of Jesus

Author: James Goldberg

Publisher: CreateSpace (self)

Release Date: September 20, 2012

ISBN: 978-1479271306

Size: 330 pages, 5.5 x 8.5, softcover

Genre: Historical

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.